Guar gum

From Cookipedia

Guar gum (E412), also called guaran, is a galactomannan. It is primarily the ground endosperm of guar beans. The guar seeds have the husks removed and are milled and screened to obtain the guar gum. It is typically produced as a free-flowing, off-white powder and is a natural gluten free food thickener, stabiliser, emulsifier and texture improver.

Guar Gum is a powerful short texture thickener and can be used even in cold water or liquids. It is neutral in smell and is tasteless. It can be used in bread and dough for a softening effect, in gels, fruit preparations and frozen products to prevent water leakage or to thicken and in ice cream and sorbets to prevent ice crystals forming. It is also used in foams to improve stability and improve texture and in place of starch, syrups and sugars as a low calorie source thickener or in place of eggs, protein and as a binder in vegan and vegetarian foods.

Find recipes that contain 'Guar gum'